How to Use Memories in Medulla

Memories let you save preferences that Medulla can follow when it generates your documents. You can apply a Memory to all templates or to a specific template.

Note: Memories take effect the next time you generate or regenerate a document. They do not change documents that have already been generated.

There are three ways to add a Memory in Medulla.

1. Add a Memory from Settings

  • Sign in to the Medulla web app.

  • Navigate to Settings and select Memories.

  • Under New memory, enter the preference you want Medulla to remember.

  • Under Applies to, select All templates or choose a specific template.

  • Click Add memory.

Screenshot_2026-09-15_at_7.11.34_PM_27BZpOsU7.png
Adding a new Memory from Settings

You can also Pause, Edit, or Delete a saved memory from the same screen.

Screenshot_2026-09-18_at_1.04.18_AM_w2dDrd4lX.png
Viewing and managing saved Memories

2. Add a Memory Using Ask

You can also add a Memory using Ask, Medulla’s AI chat.

  • Open Ask.

  • Enter the preference you want Medulla to remember.

  • Once the Memory is saved, you will see a Saved to memories confirmation.

  • To view or make changes to your saved Memories, click Manage memories. This will take you to the Memories page in Settings.

Screenshot_2026-09-18_at_1.03.39_AM_5hqCls99E.png
Adding a Memory using Ask

3. Add a Memory When Regenerating a Document

You can save an instruction as a Memory when making changes to a generated document.

  • Navigate to the generated document you would like to regenerate.

  • Click the Regenerate icon.

  • Enter the instruction you want Medulla to apply.

  • Select Remember this for future documents.

  • Click Regenerate.

Screenshot_2026-09-18_at_2.20.46_AM_6oAPMWjnl.png
Saving an instruction as a Memory when regenerating a document

The instruction will be saved as a Memory, so you won’t need to enter it again each time.